The understanding experience…

Next week marks the beginning of a new school year for so many students and teachers.  Some will be excited, nervous, anxious, or bummed.  (Some of the students may feel this way, too.)  Each year teachers get a chance to reinvent themselves, their courses and classrooms.  We can evaluate what worked, and what didn’t, the previous year(s) and CAN make changes.  While there are a few teachers that have found their comfort zone, MOST teachers will do this.  They will attack the new year with a vigor and excitement like that of a kid experiencing school for the first time.  It was uplifting to walk into my school this week and feel the air of hope among the staff.  We know what our students are capable of achieving and we know the obstacles many of our students will face.  This profession is charged with the responsibility of  facilitating the former despite the latter.  A seemingly impossible task, yet we never stop trying.

Last year I changed my approach to teaching, mostly with respect to grading.  I believe students should be given credit for the work they do.  With this in mind I used to grade (for correctness) every assignment I gave.  Last year, I only graded the assignments on which the students could be reasonably expected to show mastery of a topic.  Students were far less stressed and I had significantly higher achievement.  While this is wonderful, it still doesn’t align with my core belief of teaching/ learning.

Education to lead to understanding.

This is a simple concept, but it is disregarded by the modern educational system in our country.  Our students know that, in the end, they are simply expected to be able to pass a series of tests.  They only need to hold onto basic facts and definitions which will allow them to regurgitate information on a Scantron.  They may be encouraged to produce models, reports, and projects for minor grades, but the main goal is to pass a few tests.  While an occasional test is a good way to evaluate whether or not basic knowledge exists, it rarely forces a student to demonstrate understanding.

With grade expectations quickly dropping and accountability at an all time low, we need a shift in the way we teach if we hope to continue to be successful.  I don’t understand why we would rather have more students graduate with less education than fewer students graduate with a better education.  Why does EVERY kid have to pass college prep high school (since there are no longer options for general education)?  NOT EVERY STUDENT IS COLLEGE BOUND; NOT EVERY STUDENT WILL BE PREPARED FOR SUCCESS IN COLLEGE BY THE AGE OF 18 (21 if in the special education system).  Why do we tell kids, and teachers, that every kid is the same?!?  We need to give students, families, teachers, schools, and our society more (and more realistic) options.  Don’t get me wrong… ANY student CAN be successful, regardless of the challenges they face, however not all of them WILL be.

With this in mind, I am restructuring my course (again) to focus on whether or not understanding can be demonstrated.  I will occasionally give quizzes or tests, but for a fraction of the overall grade.  It would be a disservice to not prepare my students for the world they actually live in in favor of the world I believe they should live in.  Students will be able to explore our subject matter through experience guided by their interests, not a textbook.  After all, a textbook is just a reference material.  It is just a small part of the understanding experience.  I’m going to challenge my students to go beyond the measurements of achievement ascribed by the school/state/and country.  I am going to challenge them to set higher standards and expectations.  I will challenge them to push past their limits and understand the world around them.

What do you think?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other subscribers

'Popularity'

  • 234 guests